2021 NPSTC Award Recipients

July 8, 2021

Every year the National Public Safety Telecommunications Commission (NPSTC) recognizes the hard work and commitment its hard-working volunteers demonstrate through important work on behalf of public safety telecommunications while working full-time jobs. The 2021 winners received their awards at the NPSTC Governing Board meeting on June 17th.  The NPSTC Chairman’s Award was conferred on Chief Kevin McGinnis. The NPSTC Chairman’s Award, created to recognize one individual who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership, was presented to Kevin for his consistent unwavering support and dedication to NPSTC and the public safety communications community. Chief McGinnis has served as past Chairman of the SAFECOM program, member of the FirstNet Board of Directors and currently serves as Vice-Chair of the NPSTC Governing Board. He is a past recipient of the DeMello award in 2017. NPSTC’s highest level award, the DeMello Award was created in 2006 to honor the achievement of Richard DeMello, one of the founding fathers of NPSTC and a member of the RCA, who was instrumental in bringing all the frequency coordinators together to form NPSTC. NPSTC grants this award to an individual in public safety communications who has demonstrated the highest levels of personal and professional conduct and performance in the local, state, and national public safety communications arena.