Safe Transport of Children


The Safe Transport of Children (STC) Ad Hoc Committee was created for the purpose of examining current resources and pursuing research to develop specific and practical recommendations and promising practices for safely transporting children in ground ambulances.


  • To recommend the criteria or specifications for proper restraint of children in ambulances. Such criteria will be evidence-based and will consider safety of both patients and providers.
  • To have the recommended criteria adopted by one or more accredited standard setting organizations.
  • To develop a strategy and resources for educating EMS providers on safely transporting children in ground ambulances based on the recommended criteria or standards.

Meeting schedule

The Safe Transport of Children Ad Hoc Committee generally meets the 4th Thursday, even-numbered months, at 1:30 PM Eastern, except when conflicting with a holiday or when meeting in conjunction with the NASEMSO Annual Meeting.   The meeting schedule for 2019 is as follows:

2019 Meeting Schedule

January 3 ( December 27 , 2018 meeting rescheduled)
February 28
April 25
May 15 (NASEMSO Annual Meeting, Salt Lake City, Utah)
June 27
August 22
October 24



Eric Hicken,CPM, EMT-P
EMSC Program Manager
Office of EMS
NJ Department of Health

Vice Chair

Katherine R. Schafer
Program Manager
New Mexico EMS for Children and Child Ready Programs

Pediatric Emergency Care Council

  • Michelle Bailey (FL)
  • Tracy Cleary (KS)
  • Rachael Ford (OR)
  • Katherine Hert (AL)
  • Eric Hicken (NJ)
  • Brandon Kelley (WY)
  • Kjelsey Polzin (MN)
  • Angie Poorman (PA)
  • Katherine Schafer (NM)
  • Cyndy Wright-Johnson (MD)

Agency & Vehicle Licensure (AVL) Committee

  • Paul Phillips (Kentucky)

State Directors

  • Steve McCoy (FL)


  • Katrina Altenhofen, National EMS for Children Innovation and Improvement Center
  • Marilyn Bull (Riley Hospital for Children at IU)
  • Stephanie Busch (National EMSC Data Analysis Resource Center)
  • Jacob Cartner, Engineering Manager, Ferno
  • Mary Chiesa, Saplacor
  • Tom Downey, Emergency Vehicle Seating (EVS)
  • Amy Haughn, AAMS Children Special Interest Group (KIDS SIG)
  • Bill Horn (Calspan)
  • Chris Jessup (IMMI)
  • Mike Kulig (Calspan)
  • Teresa Merk, AAMS Critical Care Ground Special Interest Group (CCG SIG)
  • Rich Perl, President, Quantum EMS
  • Elena Sierra, AAMS Membership Manager
  • Tim Wells, Director of Product Management, Ferno

Federal Partners

  • Dave Bryson (NHTSA)
  • John McDonald (GSA)
  • Theresa Morrison-Quinata (HRSA)
  • James Green (NIOSH)
  • Alexander “Sandy” Sinclair (NHTSA)

For More Information

Mary Hedges, MPA
NASEMSO Program Manager