Medical Directors


The Medical Directors Council is composed of state EMS medical directors and provides medical expertise and leadership to NASEMSO. The council formulates recommendations to the NASEMSO Executive Board on policies and positions in support of the NASEMSO mission.


The NASEMSO Medical Directors Council provides a forum for communications, interaction and networking among peers, other national organizations and federal agencies with similar missions. This forum allows for the sharing of best practices; developing and encouraging mentoring programs; the joint resolution of obstacles and challenges; and the nationwide promotion of evidence-based decision-making.


The highest quality patient care through EMS medical oversight


The NASEMSO Medical Directors Council brings together state EMS medical directors to provide medical expertise and leadership to NASEMSO.

Meeting Schedule

The Medical Directors Council meets virtually every other month (odd-numbered months) on the first Monday at 1:00 PM Eastern.  In addition, the Council holds a two-day in person meeting at the NASEMSO Annual Meeting.


  • January 4
  • March 1
  • May 3
  • July 5 (Cancelled)
  • September 7 (Moved to Tuesday due to Labor Day)
  • November 1


  • June 20-21, 2022 (at NASEMSO Annual Meeting) Charleston Marriott, Charleston, SC

George Lindbeck, MD
State EMS Medical Director
Office of EMS, VA Dept of Health

Chair Elect

Matthew Sholl, MD
Medical Director
Maine EMS


Carol Cunningham, MD
State EMS Medical Director
Ohio Department of Public Safety

Immediate Past Chairperson

Ken Williams, MD
State Medical Director
Rhode Island Department of Health
Division of Emergency Medical Services

East Region

Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, US Virgin Islands, Vermont, Virginia, Washington DC, and West Virginia


Kate Zimmerman, DO
Associate State EMS Medical Director
Maine EMS

South Region

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas


Julia Martin, MD
State Medical Advisor
KY Board of EMS

Great Lakes Region

Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin


Carol Cunningham, MD
State EMS Medical Director
Ohio Department of Public Safety

Western Plains Region

Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming


Peter Taillac, MD
Utah EMS Medical Director

West Region

Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Northern Mariana Islands, Oregon, Washington


Curtis Sandy, MD
Chair, Idaho Emergency Medical Services Physician Commission
Bureau of EMS and Preparedness

For More Information

Mary Hedges, MPA
Program Manager