Resolution 2015-02

Honoring the Memory and Lifetime Achievements of Norman E. McSwain, Jr., MD, FACS



hereas Norman E. McSwain Jr., MD, FACS, a pioneer in trauma surgery, served as a champion for EMS education and EMS system development for over 50 years;

Whereas Dr. McSwain is the only physician in the history of the American College of Surgeons to receive all five major trauma awards;

Whereas Dr. McSwain was responsible for the development of the Prehospital Trauma Life Support Course that has been used to train over half a million people in 45 countries and which is considered to be a world standard for prehospital trauma education;

Whereas Dr. McSwain worked with the military and the Department of Defense to develop the Tactical Combat Casualty Care program for military medics; and

Whereas Dr. McSwain has written or revised more than 25 textbooks, published more than 360 articles and traveled throughout the world giving 800 presentations in all of the 50 states, all of Canada's provinces, and most of the countries in Europe and Central America.

Tow therefore be it resolved that the National Association of State EMS Officials posthumously honors Norman E. McSwain, Jr., MD, FACS, for a lifetime of leadership and service to the EMS and trauma communities as well as for his commitment to quality care for trauma patients worldwide.

Submitted by Joe Ferrell (IA), Chair, Education and Professional Standards Council, and Submitted by Sherri Wren (NE), Chair, Trauma Managers Council

Signed this 15th day of October, 2015.

Paul Patrick

2014-2016 President

Kyle Thornton

2014-2016 Secretary

Ruh L. Thouton

Intended Distribution:

Family of Dr. McSwain

All EMS and Trauma Associations

Secretary of the Department of Health, Louisiana